Granada 2.0

*I’m about 5 months behind on my normal blog posting schedule. I’ve got a few days to catch up, so bear with me as I turn back time a bit.*

FIRST WEEKEND OF DECEMBER

A friend from university was coming to the lovely Iberian Peninsula for a visit. She had plans to see more of Spain and stay with me while she was in Madrid. Once the weekend arrived, we went together to the South of Spain, to one of my favourite cities ever.

Granada is a city that never gets old. I’ve only been twice, but I would (and I will) return. Everywhere you look it’s stunning. The last time I visited, I went in the summer and the weather was perfect. This time, I went in December. It was very cold, but I still had an excellent time. No matter the weather and season, it’s worth a visit to the city and to the Alhambra.

We stayed in a really cool hostel at the top of the hilltop Albaicín neighborhood. I highly recommend it: Makuto Backpackers Hostel. You don’t have to be a backpacker to stay. It was clean, safe and super chill. The staff was really kind.

Our first night, we went to a Flamenco show. I remember loving the show at Le Chien Andalou, so I suggested that we go there. It’s a small, intimate space that allows you to be close to the dancer(s) and musician(s). It was wonderful.

The second day there, we went on a walking tour in the morning to see the city and learn about it’s diverse culture. I learn something new every time I visit a city, no matter how many times I visit it. I could even say the same about Madrid. I’ve been living in Madrid for almost three years and I’m constantly learning something new.

In the afternoon, we visited the Alhambra. My favourite monument in Spain (and even the world!). It’s extremely impressive. I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to visit again. Check out a few highlight photos below.

On our last day, we slowed down a bit. We ate breakfast, visited the main cathedral and got some coffee at La Finca. It was a fairly ‘new’ coffee shop that wasn’t open the last time I was in Granada. It was a chill space with yummy coffee/tea. We took a break from walking around to read, journal and crochet (I had a Christmas gift that I was trying to finish). Plus, it was cold. So we were trying to stay warm.

In the evening, I traveled back to Madrid and my friend continued to the next city on her itinerary (Ronda, Spain).

Until next time, Granada! ¡Muchos besos!

IMG_3582
Ashleigh B and me (I’ve got fantastic, squinty eyes). It was fun to show her around Madrid. 
IMG_0884
Typical white houses found in Andalucía.
IMG_0733
The famous courtyard and reflection pool in Palacios Nazaríes.

IMG_3583

IMG_0714
opposite side of the courtyard in Palacios Nazaríes
IMG_0754
Just look at that mosaic and Moorish architecture.
IMG_0783
The best views are from the Generalife gardens.

IMG_0792IMG_3584

IMG_0864
You can see the Sierra Nevada in the distance. 

2 thoughts on “Granada 2.0

  1. So glad to be reading about your travel adventures again. Have been missing them!! Thanks for the two so far today! Love and prayers, Aunt Christi

    Like

Leave a comment